Architect Registration Exam Blog

ARE 5.0 Tips

Understanding the ARE 5.0 Structure

Overview of the ARE

The ARE is divided into six sections, each focusing on a different aspect of architectural practice. These divisions can be taken in any order and are designed to reflect the progression of a typical architecture project. The divisions are:

1. Practice Management
2. Project Management
3. Programming & Analysis
4. Project Planning & Design
5. Project Development & Documentation
6. Construction & Evaluation

Each division includes a mix of question types, including multiple-choice, check-all-that-apply, quantitative fill-in-the-blank, hot spot, and drag-and-place questions. Additionally, each division includes two to three case studies, which present real-world scenarios and require you to use multiple resources to answer a series of questions.

Cognitive Levels

The ARE is designed to assess your ability to practice architecture independently. To do this, the exam questions are written to three cognitive levels: Remembering & Understanding, Application, and Analysis. These levels reflect the complexity of the questions and the cognitive skills required to answer them.

Exam Duration and Breaks

Each division of the ARE has a set duration, ranging from three hours and 20 minutes to five hours. During this time, you'll answer 65 to 100 questions, depending on the division. This duration includes a 30 to 45-minute break during the exam, depending also on which division you are taking. This break is optional and does not count against your testing time. You can take the break at any time, but it's recommended to take it when you're about halfway through the questions.

Exam Navigation and Tools

During the exam, you'll have access to various tools to help you navigate the questions and case studies. These include an on-screen calculator, a digital whiteboard for notes, and a search function for the case study resources.

Understanding the structure of the ARE structure is crucial to your success. By familiarizing yourself with the divisions, question types, cognitive levels, and exam tools, you can approach the exam with confidence