Architect Registration Exam Blog

ARE 5.0 Tips

What is the ARE 5.0?

ARE 5.0 in a nutshell

The Architect Registration Examination (ARE) is a creation of NCARB and serves as the examination for candidates seeking architectural licensure in U.S. jurisdictions. Some Canadian provincial and territorial architectural associations also recognize the ARE for licensure.

The ARE evaluates a candidate's understanding and abilities in providing various services required in architectural practice. While it's impossible for a single examination to test for competency in all aspects of architectural practice, the ARE focuses on the professional services that directly impact public health, safety, and welfare.

To legally practice architecture in the United States, you must secure a license from a U.S. state or territory (referred to as a “jurisdiction”) where you plan to practice. Achieving licensure signifies to your firm, clients, and the public that you possess the essential knowledge and skills to practice architecture safely and competently. Once you're licensed, you can officially call yourself an architect.

The path to become a licensed architect

Completing the Architect Registration Exam – ARE 5.0 – is mandatory in the United States in order to become a licensed architect. Should everyone with an architecture degree do it? Not necessarily. Is it beneficial for your career, regardless of your type of aspirations in your professional life? Absolutely. Above all, whether you pass all the exams or not – you will if you do not quit – the knowledge you will acquire in the process will help you immensely in your career, whatever that may be.

In conclusion, let us put all the cards on the table: it is an expensive, tiresome, frustrating, and daunting experience but the rewards make up for all the blood, sweat and tears. Mostly tears.

The six divisions of the Architect Registration Exam​